Members: To update your directory listing, please send us an email with the changes to email@example.com. Paper Format: 2022 MEMBERSHIP DIRECTORY (PDF).
Lambton Heritage MuseumLambton Heritage Museum
The Lambton Heritage Museum opened in 1978 and was established to “preserve and interpret the history of Lambton County”. Owned and operated by the County of Lambton, we welcome residents and visitors to come explore and discover stories of Lambton County.
There are two main galleries as well as 7 outdoor buildings to explore. Our collection began with a donation from two private donors and has continued to grow by accepting donations of artifacts that help tell the history of the area.
Our main galleries are open year round and our outdoor buildings are open from mid-April to mid-December, weather permitting.
The County of Lambton believes creativity, culture and quality of place are fundamental to building a sustainable, prosperous and diversified economy in Lambton County and providing a superior quality of life for our residents.
Home to one of the largest pressed glass water pitcher collections as well as the Lambton furniture collection.
Established to preserve and interpret the history of Lambton County, visitors can explore many unique stories. Exhibits include Northern Navigation, Doherty Stoveworks, Dutch and Slovak immigration, local history, and so much more.
In Ontario at the turn of the century, many families joined together in co-operative groups to oversee the slaughtering and distribution of fresh meat. The Springvale Beef-Ring Association was formed in 1911 near Thedford. This slaughterhouse was built in 1917 by the association’s third butcher, John Watson. The Springvale Beef-Ring ceased operation in 1956 and this building was moved to the museum in 1978.
Ravenswood Blacksmith Shop
This building, built in the late 19th century, was moved to the museum in 1983. The front section was originally the Palmer Carriage Shop until 1920, when it was used as a farm blacksmith shop on the Williamson farm at Ravenswood. The carpenter/wheelwright section at the rear was a general purpose building on the farm of Paul Backx.
Transportation & Agricultural Buildings
These two large buildings hold an extensive collection of agricultural machinery, tools, wagons, etc. Many were manufactured locally in Lambton County. Also on display is a rare, recently restored, horse-drawn ambulance, made by Petrolia Wagon Works and used in Lambton’s oil fields over 100 years ago.
On August 5, 1867, the congregation of northeast Euphemia decided to build a church. The land was donated and $200 was quickly raised for its construction. The name Cameron was selected in honour of the missionary serving the congregation at the time. In 1999, after over 130 years, the Cameron Church was officially closed and the following year, it opened at its new home at the Lambton Heritage Museum where it continues to provide a picturesque setting for small weddings.
S.S. No. 4 Brooke was first opened in September, 1899 in the crossroads community of Rokeby, between Alvinston and Watford. Over the years, the school was the scene of many social gatherings, garden parties, picnics, ball games and entertainment for the farming families of the area. It was relocated to the museum in 1990, years were spent restoring it and it officially opened in1998, almost 100 years after it was built.
This tiny house was one of the first homes in the area, built near Thedford in 1857 by Daniel Tudhop for him and his mother. In 1879, this house became part of a larger brick house which was destroyed by fire almost 100 years later. In 1978, the original Tudhop home, undamaged by the fire, was moved to the museum.
10035 Museum Rd. (Hwy 21 across from Pinery Park) Grand Bend ON N0M 1T0 Canada